Your tax pro does it all for you.

Over 100 years of combined tax experience and expertise.

A basic federal W-2 return is $59.99. The pro prepares it from the conversation, the photo of the form, and what you confirm. Add-ons show on the quote before you pay.

$59.99100+ years combined experience

256-bit encryption · IRS Pub 4557 safeguards

A woman holding a phone

Why us

Over 100 years of combined tax experience and expertise.

As of October 2026. Checked October 21, 2026. The columns are firms that prepare the return for you.

Price for a done-for-you W-2 return

  • EZTax

    A basic federal W-2 is $59.99. A state income-tax return is $19.99. Add-ons are itemized on the quote before you pay. Spanish is included.

  • TurboTax Expert Full Service

    Expert Full Service starts at $129 for one Form 1040 and one W-2. A state return is $69. The product was called Live Full Service before tax year 2025.

  • H&R Block tax pro

    Filing with a tax pro starts at $99, plus a state return from $75. An FAQ also says in-person filing starts at $89. This table uses $99.

  • TaxAct Xpert Full Service

    Xpert Full Service is $99 for each individual plan. A state fee is extra and is not published.

  • Liberty Tax

    In-office preparation starts at $69 for a Form 1040 with no schedules, at participating offices. A state fee is extra and is not published.

  • NATP 2025 average

    The 2025 NATP fee study puts the average Form 1040 at $236. That is an average, not one office’s quote.

Who prepares the return

  • EZTax

    Your tax pro does it all for you, from chat, a phone call, and email. You confirm the numbers. A credentialed person reviews it only when that add-on is on the quote.

  • TurboTax Expert Full Service

    A tax expert prepares the return and gives the final price before filing.

  • H&R Block tax pro

    An H&R Block tax pro prepares the return, in person, virtually, or by drop-off.

  • TaxAct Xpert Full Service

    Xpert Full Service is a done-for-you preparation, not software the client finishes alone.

  • Liberty Tax

    Liberty Tax advertises in-office preparation. The homepage does not describe a return prepared from chat, a call, and email.

  • NATP 2025 average

    An independent preparer in the NATP study prepares the return. The fee study is an average of those offices.

Spanish support

  • EZTax

    The interview, the quote, and these pages are in Spanish. FileMyTaxesNear.me opens in Spanish. There is no language charge.

  • TurboTax Expert Full Service

    TurboTax publishes a Spanish filing page. That page was not checked as a promise that Expert Full Service is entirely in Spanish.

  • H&R Block tax pro

    H&R Block publishes Spanish tax preparation with bilingual tax pros.

  • TaxAct Xpert Full Service

    TaxAct’s Xpert Full Service blog has a Spanish page. That page was not checked as a promise that every plan is prepared in Spanish.

  • Liberty Tax

    Spanish service is not stated on the homepage we checked.

  • NATP 2025 average

    The fee study does not say whether a preparer works in Spanish.

Hand over a W-2

  • EZTax

    Photograph the W-2 or upload it. Your tax pro reads the boxes and you confirm each one before it is used.

  • TurboTax Expert Full Service

    The Expert Full Service price list says you select forms for your expert. It does not describe a phone photo.

  • H&R Block tax pro

    Drop-off means you leave the documents with the tax pro. The page does not describe a phone photo.

  • TaxAct Xpert Full Service

    The Xpert Full Service pages we checked do not describe a phone photo of a W-2.

  • Liberty Tax

    The homepage does not describe a phone photo of a W-2.

  • NATP 2025 average

    The fee study does not describe how a client hands over a W-2.

Maximum-refund guarantee

  • EZTax

    We do not guarantee a maximum refund. The meter is the calculator’s result from the numbers you confirm.

  • TurboTax Expert Full Service

    A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the Expert Full Service price page we checked.

  • H&R Block tax pro

    A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the tax pro page we checked.

  • TaxAct Xpert Full Service

    A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the Xpert Full Service pages we checked.

  • Liberty Tax

    A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the homepage we checked.

  • NATP 2025 average

    The fee study does not state a national refund guarantee.

Comparison
PointEZTaxTurboTax Expert Full ServiceH&R Block tax proTaxAct Xpert Full ServiceLiberty TaxNATP 2025 average
Price for a done-for-you W-2 return

A basic federal W-2 is $59.99. A state income-tax return is $19.99. Add-ons are itemized on the quote before you pay. Spanish is included.

Expert Full Service starts at $129 for one Form 1040 and one W-2. A state return is $69. The product was called Live Full Service before tax year 2025.

Filing with a tax pro starts at $99, plus a state return from $75. An FAQ also says in-person filing starts at $89. This table uses $99.

Xpert Full Service is $99 for each individual plan. A state fee is extra and is not published.

In-office preparation starts at $69 for a Form 1040 with no schedules, at participating offices. A state fee is extra and is not published.

The 2025 NATP fee study puts the average Form 1040 at $236. That is an average, not one office’s quote.

Who prepares the return

Your tax pro does it all for you, from chat, a phone call, and email. You confirm the numbers. A credentialed person reviews it only when that add-on is on the quote.

A tax expert prepares the return and gives the final price before filing.

An H&R Block tax pro prepares the return, in person, virtually, or by drop-off.

Xpert Full Service is a done-for-you preparation, not software the client finishes alone.

Liberty Tax advertises in-office preparation. The homepage does not describe a return prepared from chat, a call, and email.

An independent preparer in the NATP study prepares the return. The fee study is an average of those offices.

Spanish support

The interview, the quote, and these pages are in Spanish. FileMyTaxesNear.me opens in Spanish. There is no language charge.

TurboTax publishes a Spanish filing page. That page was not checked as a promise that Expert Full Service is entirely in Spanish.

H&R Block publishes Spanish tax preparation with bilingual tax pros.

TaxAct’s Xpert Full Service blog has a Spanish page. That page was not checked as a promise that every plan is prepared in Spanish.

Spanish service is not stated on the homepage we checked.

The fee study does not say whether a preparer works in Spanish.

Hand over a W-2

Photograph the W-2 or upload it. Your tax pro reads the boxes and you confirm each one before it is used.

The Expert Full Service price list says you select forms for your expert. It does not describe a phone photo.

Drop-off means you leave the documents with the tax pro. The page does not describe a phone photo.

The Xpert Full Service pages we checked do not describe a phone photo of a W-2.

The homepage does not describe a phone photo of a W-2.

The fee study does not describe how a client hands over a W-2.

Maximum-refund guarantee

We do not guarantee a maximum refund. The meter is the calculator’s result from the numbers you confirm.

A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the Expert Full Service price page we checked.

A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the tax pro page we checked.

A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the Xpert Full Service pages we checked.

A maximum-refund guarantee is not stated on the homepage we checked.

The fee study does not state a national refund guarantee.

  1. Checked October 21, 2026. Starting-at prices are floors, so a real competitor total is often higher than the figure in the cell.
  2. H&R Block’s tax-office page says assisted filing starts at $99. An FAQ on another H&R Block page says in-person filing starts at $89. This table uses $99.
  3. TaxAct’s individual state fee is labeled extra and the amount is not published, so a $99 comparison can be a floor. TurboTax lists Schedule E with no added fee, so a rental comparison against TurboTax is a floor.
  4. Liberty Tax’s $69 price covers a Form 1040 with no schedules. Other Liberty prices are not published. State pricing for H&R Block starts at $75.
  5. Jackson Hewitt in-office prices are set by each franchise and are not published, so Jackson Hewitt is not a column.
  6. NATP figures are the 2025 fee-study averages, not a quote from one office. Schedule C’s $123 to $135 range is from a secondary report of that study. Business-return averages are not public in the 2025 study.
  7. This table is only firms that prepare the return for you. Software the client finishes alone is not a column.

Sources

  1. turbotax.intuit.com/personal-taxes/online/
  2. www.hrblock.com/tax-offices/
  3. blog.taxact.com/xpert-full-service-in-espanol/
  4. www.libertytax.com/
  5. dam.natptax.com/m/39796eb5ee56a576/original/TAXPROPages.pdf
  6. turbotax.intuit.com/personal-taxes/en-espanol/
  7. www.hrblock.com/espanol/
  8. www.hrblock.com/tax-offices/upfront-pricing/
  9. www.taxact.com/taxes-online

How it works

1

Answer in plain language

Filing status, dependents, the W-2, then credits. You can leave and come back.

2

Confirm every extracted number

Nothing from a photo lands on the return until you accept it.

3

Review, sign, and send

You sign a Form 8879-style consent. Transmission waits for a certified partner.

What’s included

W-2 interview

Plain language. One question on the screen.

Photograph the form

We extract the boxes. You confirm each one.

Refund meter

A live federal estimate for the year you can file now, not a guess.

  • $59.99 basic federal W-2
  • 256-bit field encryption
  • You review every figure before you sign

Basic federal W-2 return

$59.99

One federal Form 1040, one W-2, the standard deduction, and a 15-minute consult. Your tax pro prepares it. Nothing is sent to the IRS until an e-file partner is connected.

See pricing

Questions

What does a basic return cost?

A basic federal W-2 return is $59.99. Extra forms, schedules, dependents, credits, and a person reviewing the return are add-ons on the quote. You pay only when you are ready to file.

Do you file with the IRS today?

We prepare your return and the signed packet. E-file opens when our IRS e-file partner goes live; we'll email you.

What year is this for?

Tax year 2025, for late and extension filers. 2026 opens when the IRS season opens, around late January 2027. The 2025 figures follow Rev. Proc. 2024-40.

More help